RSS

Bejeweled Pomegranate

17 Dec

ohlidia

P1060332

I’ve always thought of the pomegranate as a jewel-like fruit. Those little crimson seeds always made me think of the precious ruby. They still do. As a child, I would await the arrival of this forbidding fruit with anticipation. The short-lived fruit would arrive in late Autumn and thrive right through to Christmas. A few short months, and then they were gone. I think that’s one reason I found the pomegranate such a beguiling treat. That and the explosion of those sweet, juicy and succulent seeds once I spooned them into my mouth. This ancient Middle-Eastern fruit truly was a fleeting indulgence.

I love the myth that revolves around the pomegranate. Persephone is abducted by Hades, God of the Dead, and imprisoned in the underworld. There, she eats some pomegranate seeds. Demeter, Goddess of Agriculture and Fertility, is her mother. She is so saddened over the loss of her only daughter…

View original post 866 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2012 in Ice-cream recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
